I live among LDS people who have heaven all figured out.

However, as I search through the Bible,  I don’t.

The Bible says a few things about heaven, so there will be no surprises:

John 14:2  In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

Revelation 21 (The whole chapter deals with heaven; here are a few descriptions.)

1And I saw a new heaven and a new earth: for the first heaven and the first earth were passed away; and there was no more sea.

3And I heard a great voice out of heaven saying, Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and he will dwell with them, and they shall be his people, and God himself shall be with them, and be their God.

4And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.

19 …and the city was pure gold, like unto clear glass. 21…and the street of the city was pure gold, as it were transparent glass.

23And the city had no need of the sun, neither of the moon, to shine in it: for the glory of God did lighten it, and the Lamb is the light thereof.

25And the gates of it shall not be shut at all by day: for there shall be no night there.

Heaven is where God reigns and where He has prepared a place none of us can fathom.  I believe it will be like God saying to me, “You thought Canyonlands was awesome?  You loved the red rock and formations of Bryce and Arches?  You thought the road through Zion was so magnificent that it made you break out in praise to Me? Just wait!  You cannot imagine the magnificence and splendor I have waiting for you.”

I

will not

be surprised. 

 

I

will be

delighted.

This entry was posted in From the Bible, My thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment